Monday, May 17, 2021

S.E.X. Review~ Love of the Hunter by V. L. Locey

* A retelling of the myth of Orion*

Will the night skies be forever changed?


Those upon Earth would assume the life of a Greek god is a walk through Elysium. They would be terribly wrong. Apollo, the golden son of Zeus, is far from home, banished from Olympus to live and train with the Titan, Helios. To compound his misery, Apollo is still mourning the loss of his first love, Hyacinthus. Life becomes a daily routine of shame, drudgery, and abuse until the hunter Orion appears at the eastern end of the world, seeking the healing touch of a Titan.

When Helios refuses to aid yet another offspring of the usurping gods, Apollo hides Orion and heals the hunter as best as his fledgling powers allow. Blinded eyes mend slowly, and the two young men find themselves falling in love as the seasons go by. But the gods of Olympus see all, and Sky father Zeus disapproves of the budding relationship. Can their love stand against the disapproval and fury of the god of men?



Normally not a fan of Greek mythology, I was intrigued and happily satisfied with Love of the Hunter. Never did I doubt Ms. Locey’s ability to write the mythological story of Orion, but my own biases plagued me.

I was definitely proven wrong, as grab a box of tissues- because you will need them to get through the tale.

Ms. Locey delivered heartache and drama as she wove through the tumultuous relationships of the gods, their offspring and their lovers. I was immediately drawn into the story and Orion’s plight. The author delivered the tale with such clarity, that I felt every strike of the whip, every ounce of happiness, and every tear shed. The gods were a spiteful, narcissistic, and just plain not nice group of people- this radiated throughout.

The relationship between Orion, his sister, and his lover catapulted off the pages and enveloped me to the point that tears flowed freely, and my heart ached. Never does a story concerning Greek mythology end well but Ms. Locey delivered one that both satisfied my need for an HEA and a need for vindication.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


~~~~~

2021 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Tuesday, May 11, 2021

S.E.X. Release Blitz~ The Ballad of Crow & Sparrow by V.L. Locey


 



Cover Design: Designs By Sloan

Length: 74,337 

Blurb

Sometimes a man’s biggest blunder can turn into his greatest triumph.

Orphaned at fourteen, Crow Poulin now has to hunt and trap the White Mountains of Arizona, as his father had taught him, all alone. It’s a lonely existence, until one morning, while checking his trap line, Crow finds more than a rabbit in a snare. He stumbles across the outlaw Jack Wittington lying half dead in the wilds. He takes the wanted man in, heals him, and in return for saving his life, the smooth-talking criminal invites Crow to join his family. Starved for human interaction and a father figure, Crow leaves the mountains behind for what he assumes will be a brighter future.

Six years pass. Crow is now a man, as well as a member of the Wittington Gang. He may be considered an outlaw, but his father’s morals are warring loudly with the lifestyle of his adopted family. When the gang decides to rob a train, Crow has no choice but to go along to keep a tight rein on the more bloodthirsty members. It doesn’t take long for the scheme to go horribly astray.

Instead of gold-filled coffers, the gang finds Spencer Haughton, son of cattle baron and railroad tycoon Woodford Haughton, cowering in the family’s opulent private car. The outlaws grab the sickly heir in hopes of ransoming him off. Things then go from bad to worse for them when the law rides down on the Wittington hideout and Crow is given Spencer to hide until the ransom is paid. The pretty young man is nothing at all like anyone Crow has ever met before. Delicate, refined, well-educated, and possessed of a singing voice to rival the songs of the birds in the trees, Crow slowly finds himself falling for the winsome rich boy. But can two such opposite souls find the love they’re both seeking in each other’s arms?


USA Today Bestselling Author V.L. Locey – Penning LGBT hockey romance that skates into sinful pleasures.

V.L. Locey loves worn jeans, yoga, belly laughs, walking, reading and writing lusty tales, Greek mythology, Torchwood and Dr. Who, the New York Rangers, comic books, and coffee. (Not necessarily in that order.) She shares her life with her husband, her daughter, one dog, two cats, a pair of geese, far too many chickens, and two steers.

When not writing spicy romances, she enjoys spending her day with her menagerie in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania with a cup of fresh java in one hand and a steamy romance novel in the other.



a Rafflecopter giveaway 

~~~~~
2021 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Saturday, May 1, 2021

S.E.X. Review~ His Horizon by Con Riley

Temperatures rise when there are two cooks in Jude’s kitchen...

Jude’s drowning in guilt when he can’t save his family business single-handed. The last person he expects to throw a lifeline is Rob, a rival chef who once beat him to first place in a cooking contest.

Two chefs working together won’t be easy. Not when Rob is everything Jude isn’t—popular, extroverted, and a one-time hook-up. What’s worse is that Rob wears his heart on his sleeve while Jude’s still in the closet.

Jude’s dilemma doesn’t end there. Rob’s rescue package comes with conditions that mean sharing everything from the profits to Jude’s sleeping quarters. Sleeping with the enemy will either be a disaster or signal a much brighter future, but only if Jude can meet Rob’s final condition and love him in the open.

Featuring opposites who attract, rivals to lovers, and an out-for-you storyline dripping with hurt-comfort feelings, His Horizon is the first in a shared-world series of standalone MM romance novels from Con Riley.
 

His Horizon by Con Riley was a lovely read. The premise and the depth was beautifully crafted as Ms. Riley delivered warmth and understanding. Jude suffered a tragedy which took his life on an unexpected journey. Rob was running and his life’s choices led him back to Jude. Together both men filled a void I’m not sure either one realized they had.

The emotional toll of losing and searching for his parents left Jude and (his sister Lou) in a precarious situation that called for unity and delicacy. Many issues were brought up throughout the story in which I felt Ms. Riley did a wonderful job of addressing. Despair was worn like a scarlet letter that needed to be ripped off in one swoop.

As each new character was introduced, the storyline fell more into place and each added a piece to the overall pie. Without the secondary characters, the story would have felt flat.

I adored Jude and Rob and found their banter and journey towards something real ever more pleasant.

I was a little taken back by the somewhat lack of explanation dealing with Jude and Lou’s parent (I don’t want to say too much for fear of spoilers), but that was my only drawback.

The story was tearful, sweet, and engaging.

Sexy & Sizzling

A four handcuff review


~~~~~

2021 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Sunday, April 25, 2021

S.E.X. Review~ Jared by R.J. Scott & Meredith Russell

Jared’s world is turned upside down after Luka hands over his pocket money to hire him as a friend for his lonely, widowed dad.

Jared is good at his job, but his soft heart means that he often finds himself in the weirdest of situations. A kind-of-threesome, a disappearing swan, and a destroyed hotel room are just the tip of the iceberg, but he is a popular boyfriend-for-hire and always in demand. He dreams of working as a family psychologist one day, and as his work with Bryant & Waites is funding his studies, the last thing he wants is to lose his job. At a make-or-break meeting, Jared vows to focus on being strictly professional. Still, almost immediately, he meets Luka sitting on the office steps with pocket money in hand and with a sadness that melts Jared’s resolve. Luka explains that his mom passed away some years ago, and his hardworking father needs a friend. Jared has no intention of taking Luka’s pocket money, but he wants to make Luka smile again, and if being hired as a friend for Luka’s widowed dad is what it takes, then he’s all in.

Being a single dad to eleven-year-old Luka is the best thing in Nate’s world, but add running a bar with long hours, and his work-life balance is screwed. There’s certainly no time for relationships, and even though Luka worries about his dad’s love life daily, romance is the last thing on Nate’s agenda. Owning Rhea’s Bar and keeping his head above water is second only to his love for Luka. His entire world consists of his son and the bar until Jared stumbles into his life. Even though Nate won’t admit it, he’s lonely, and Jared is the first friend he’s made in a very long time. Could their friendship become something more?


Jared, Boyfriend for Hire by RJ Scott & Meredith Russell was sweet and sappy, and a nice addition to the rest of the series. Jared worked for Gideon, a boyfriend for hire, was also a psychology major and something of an impetuous child in a mans body. Jared made me smile and laugh, especially when his boyfriend work led him astray.

Nate was a single father to Luka- a youngster who wanted to hire a boyfriend for his widowed father. On a chance encounter at Jared’s place of employment, Jared and Luka entered into a contract that changed their lives.

Luka was a sweet, sensitive boy who loved his father and would do anything to make him happy- even “hire” him a boyfriend.

Nate and Jared were equally sweet. Not particularly rushed in their budding relationship, the authors allowed them to flourish on their own time and navigate Nate’s hesitancy, albeit years since his wife died.

A quick read, Ms. Scott & Ms. Russell delivered sweet, romantic love that placed a smile on my face.

Sexy and Sizzling

A four handcuff review 


~~~~~


2021 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Monday, April 19, 2021

S.E.X. Review~ The Right One by Felice Stevens

Title: The Right One
Author: Felice Stevens
Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance
Release Date: April 14, 2021
Cover Design: Reese Dante


"Wrong never felt so right."

Morgan Cantrell is a survivor. After running away from an abusive husband, he’s finally divorced and starting over, but it’s hard. Of course he doesn’t mean to set off the smoke detectors in the building or short out the electricity in his apartment. Mistakes happen. The last thing he wants is to draw the attention of his growly, moody-ass super. Every time they meet, it’s like oil and water—they just don’t mix.

Leo DeLuca learned at an early age that the people who are supposed to love you only hurt you. He’s happy to keep to himself, but the walking disaster of a new tenant in 5C won’t stop getting in his way and into his business. They can’t even speak to each other without arguing, but Leo has to admit—it’s kind of a turn on. That must be the reason why he can’t stop thinking about the guy in 5C. Or wanting to touch him. But hell, no. That would be a mistake.

One kiss leads to an explosive night both men fight to forget—after all, Leo has nothing in common with the sweet kindergarten teacher while Morgan is looking for a happily ever after he knows Leo can’t give. Yet it’s Morgan who Leo leans on to help deal with his painful past, and Leo is the key to unlocking Morgan’s inner strength.

Trusting someone is never easy, but it might be the only way they discover that everything they think is wrong about each other, could be everything that's right.






‘Yet again Felice has given is a story full of love, emotion, heartache and so much more.’ ~ booklover (Goodreads review)
‘The feelings and emotions just poured off the pages and I felt everything!! Explosive chemistry!! Seriously loved every moment about this story!!’ ~ Janet (Goodreads review)


Leo had recognized the shadows in Cantrell’s eyes. He saw that pain and loss in the mirror every day, and every day he ignored it. If Leo were to hazard a guess, it must have something to do with his failed marriage. No one went from luxury to low-cost without a damn good reason.

“Well, Mr. Nosy Ass, you still have to eat.” He gathered up the items, put them in a bag, and left his apartment.

Trudging up to the fifth floor, he figured Cantrell would’ve had enough time to cool off and they could calmly discuss the reasons why he should leave the management of the building to the people who knew what they were doing.

He knocked on the door, and he waited impatiently as Cantrell unbolted the three separate locks he’d had installed. After all that, Cantrell still only opened the door as far as the security chain would allow, but even in those few inches, Leo could see the consternation filling Cantrell’s wide green eyes.

“What do you want? Did you come here to keep yelling at me? I already said I was sorry.”

“Actually, you didn’t.”

“I’m pretty sure I did. And even if I didn’t, you had no right to call me names.”

Cantrell’s stubbornness began to grate on Leo’s nerves. That was why he didn’t waste time with people. Inevitably, they pissed him off, like this guy.

“I call them as I see them. And are you going to stand there and say to my face you were right in fumbling around with the electrical system of this entire building that I’m responsible for?”

“If you came to berate me, I’m going to close the door. I have better things to do than listen to you.” True to his snooty words, he started to close the door, but Leo quickly stuck his foot in the narrow opening.

“I thought we could have an intelligent discussion, but obviously, that’s not happening. So here.” He held up the grocery bag. “I got the stuff you left behind when you ran away from me in the supermarket. I knocked on your door yesterday, but when no one answered, I didn’t want to leave it and have the meat spoil. You’re welcome.”

Without waiting for Cantrell’s reply, he set the grocery bag on the floor and turned on his heel. At the top of the stairs he heard a door slam shut, then open, and Cantrell call out.

“Wait. Please?”

Leo closed his eyes. He really should walk away and leave that mouthy little fucker alone. “What is it?”

“Th-that was nice of you. You didn’t have to do it.”

“I know.” Leo crossed his arms and waited.

“Thank you. And…” Cantrell bit his lip. “I’m sorry. I-I guess I shouldn’t have tried to fix the problem myself. You’re right.”

The guy was pretty damn cute.

Oh hell no. Don’t even go there.





Felice Stevens has always been a romantic at heart. She believes that while life is tough, there is always a happy ending just around the corner. Her characters have to work for it, however. Like life in NYC, nothing comes easy, and that includes love.
She lives in New York City and has way too much black in her wardrobe yet can't stop buying "just one more pair" of black pants. Felice is a happily addicted Bravo and Say Yes to the Dress addict and proud of it. And let's not get started on House Hunters. Her dream day starts out with iced coffee and ends with Prosecco, because...why shouldn't it? You can find her procrastinating on FB in her reader group, Felice's Breakfast Club.
You can find all my books, grouped by series in proper reading order on my website located here:
Follow me on social media to keep up with all my news of releases, sales and exclusive content!
Discover my character inspirations for all my books on my Pinterest Boards here:


The Right One by Felice Stevens was swoon worthy and powerful. Ms. Stevens created a synergy of emotional upheaval and the need for healing, forgiveness, and love.

As an abused partner, Morgan took matters into his own hands, and left with the clothes on his back to start a new life sans Jeffery. Enter Leo DeLuca, the sup of the apartment building Morgan moved into. Gruff, hiding behind a suit of armor, Leo was a man who harbored demons yet somewhere in his soul a good man resided.

Morgan and Leo were attracted to each other albeit in an unconventional way- klutzy accidents, ranting landlords- just added to the mix.

I loved that Ms. Stevens didn’t necessarily give us an opposites attract story, but rather a story of two men on the path of awareness that simply came from different parts. Together. Leo and Morgan embarked on a journey to not only discover themselves as strong individuals, but also on a journey which led to a relationship based on mutual respect and desire- something neither man previously experienced.

The Right One was an emotional roller coaster, but what would one expect from such a prolific writer as Felice Stevens. Morgan and Leo will tug at anyone’s heartstrings-

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


~~~~~

2021 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Friday, April 16, 2021

S.E.X. New Release~ The Right One by Felice Stevens

Title: The Right One
Author: Felice Stevens
Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance
Release Date: April 14, 2021
Cover Design: Reese Dante


"Wrong never felt so right."

Morgan Cantrell is a survivor. After running away from an abusive husband, he’s finally divorced and starting over, but it’s hard. Of course he doesn’t mean to set off the smoke detectors in the building or short out the electricity in his apartment. Mistakes happen. The last thing he wants is to draw the attention of his growly, moody-ass super. Every time they meet, it’s like oil and water—they just don’t mix.

Leo DeLuca learned at an early age that the people who are supposed to love you only hurt you. He’s happy to keep to himself, but the walking disaster of a new tenant in 5C won’t stop getting in his way and into his business. They can’t even speak to each other without arguing, but Leo has to admit—it’s kind of a turn on. That must be the reason why he can’t stop thinking about the guy in 5C. Or wanting to touch him. But hell, no. That would be a mistake.

One kiss leads to an explosive night both men fight to forget—after all, Leo has nothing in common with the sweet kindergarten teacher while Morgan is looking for a happily ever after he knows Leo can’t give. Yet it’s Morgan who Leo leans on to help deal with his painful past, and Leo is the key to unlocking Morgan’s inner strength.

Trusting someone is never easy, but it might be the only way they discover that everything they think is wrong about each other, could be everything that's right.






‘Yet again Felice has given is a story full of love, emotion, heartache and so much more.’ ~ booklover (Goodreads review)
‘The feelings and emotions just poured off the pages and I felt everything!! Explosive chemistry!! Seriously loved every moment about this story!!’ ~ Janet (Goodreads review)


Leo had recognized the shadows in Cantrell’s eyes. He saw that pain and loss in the mirror every day, and every day he ignored it. If Leo were to hazard a guess, it must have something to do with his failed marriage. No one went from luxury to low-cost without a damn good reason.

“Well, Mr. Nosy Ass, you still have to eat.” He gathered up the items, put them in a bag, and left his apartment.

Trudging up to the fifth floor, he figured Cantrell would’ve had enough time to cool off and they could calmly discuss the reasons why he should leave the management of the building to the people who knew what they were doing.

He knocked on the door, and he waited impatiently as Cantrell unbolted the three separate locks he’d had installed. After all that, Cantrell still only opened the door as far as the security chain would allow, but even in those few inches, Leo could see the consternation filling Cantrell’s wide green eyes.

“What do you want? Did you come here to keep yelling at me? I already said I was sorry.”

“Actually, you didn’t.”

“I’m pretty sure I did. And even if I didn’t, you had no right to call me names.”

Cantrell’s stubbornness began to grate on Leo’s nerves. That was why he didn’t waste time with people. Inevitably, they pissed him off, like this guy.

“I call them as I see them. And are you going to stand there and say to my face you were right in fumbling around with the electrical system of this entire building that I’m responsible for?”

“If you came to berate me, I’m going to close the door. I have better things to do than listen to you.” True to his snooty words, he started to close the door, but Leo quickly stuck his foot in the narrow opening.

“I thought we could have an intelligent discussion, but obviously, that’s not happening. So here.” He held up the grocery bag. “I got the stuff you left behind when you ran away from me in the supermarket. I knocked on your door yesterday, but when no one answered, I didn’t want to leave it and have the meat spoil. You’re welcome.”

Without waiting for Cantrell’s reply, he set the grocery bag on the floor and turned on his heel. At the top of the stairs he heard a door slam shut, then open, and Cantrell call out.

“Wait. Please?”

Leo closed his eyes. He really should walk away and leave that mouthy little fucker alone. “What is it?”

“Th-that was nice of you. You didn’t have to do it.”

“I know.” Leo crossed his arms and waited.

“Thank you. And…” Cantrell bit his lip. “I’m sorry. I-I guess I shouldn’t have tried to fix the problem myself. You’re right.”

The guy was pretty damn cute.

Oh hell no. Don’t even go there.





Felice Stevens has always been a romantic at heart. She believes that while life is tough, there is always a happy ending just around the corner. Her characters have to work for it, however. Like life in NYC, nothing comes easy, and that includes love.
She lives in New York City and has way too much black in her wardrobe yet can't stop buying "just one more pair" of black pants. Felice is a happily addicted Bravo and Say Yes to the Dress addict and proud of it. And let's not get started on House Hunters. Her dream day starts out with iced coffee and ends with Prosecco, because...why shouldn't it? You can find her procrastinating on FB in her reader group, Felice's Breakfast Club.
You can find all my books, grouped by series in proper reading order on my website located here:
Follow me on social media to keep up with all my news of releases, sales and exclusive content!
Discover my character inspirations for all my books on my Pinterest Boards here:


HOSTED BY:
~~~~~ 
2021 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Sunday, April 11, 2021

S.E.X. Release Blitz~ The Sheltering Tree by J.R. Lawrie


 


Publisher: Carnation Books

Cover Design: J.R. Lawrie

Length: 140,000 words approx.

Blurb

The heart of Alastair Harding's life is duty. Becoming the first gay chief of the Metropolitan police has required certain sacrifices, but Alastair made them willingly. If his life now lacks human connections, he can't exactly complain—and it's a little too late for regrets.

Jay Fieldhouse knows all about sacrifice, too. Brought to London for his own safety by witness protection, Jay's grassroots charity works day and night to save vulnerable kids from a life of crime. But getting close to other people is tough when no one really knows who you are.

When he meets Alastair one night at a charity event, Jay is intrigued by his glimpse of a gentle soul beneath the commissioner's uniform. The two men decide to run their lonely paths side by side for a while—after all, life is short and good sex is hard to come by.
Then the shadows of the past begin to stir, and the words which go unsaid might be Jay and Alastair's undoing.

The Sheltering Tree is J.R. Lawrie's first full length novel, following her beloved debut anthology, Let Your Heart Be Light.




J. R. Lawrie graduated from the University of Leeds in 2011 and now lives in York, UK, writing LGBTQ fiction. 

LET YOUR HEART BE LIGHT, J.R.'s debut anthology, was published by Carnation Books in 2019, followed by THE SHELTERING TREE in April 2021. 

For more updates, you can follow J.R. on Twitter: @jrlawrieauthor


a Rafflecopter giveaway

~~~~~
2021 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.