Sunday, June 19, 2022

S.E.X. Review~ The Soldier and the Bodyguard by RJ Scott


GLBTQ, MM, 
Trope: Hurt Comfort, Best Friends to Lovers, PTSD, Brain Injury, Peril, Found Family
Released: 17 June 2022
Publisher: Love Lane Books
Series: Ellery Mountain
Length: 60,000 words
Cover Design: Meredith Russell












Excerpt 

The lie in the mirror was that I couldn't see the bullet fragments in my head. Only machines could see the damage, but I knew what was in there, and I scratched near the scar, which itched like fuck.

“Hey, don't do that,” Adrian murmured and laced our fingers together so he could tug me away from worrying at the skin. He’d have been horrified if I’d told him I had this idea that, if I scratched hard enough and then tilted my head, the fragments would fall out. 

I did that in my dreams, but I’d also discussed it in my chats with my therapist, who told me it was understandable to feel as if I could reach into my brain and pick out the metal.

Understandable. Reasonable.

“Sorry.” 

Adrian squeezed my hand. “It's okay; I'm just jealous that you have a wicked scar for the ladies.”

I glanced at him. “And the men.”

He nodded and I wish I knew what he was thinking, but Adrian had this inscrutable way about him. Or maybe it was that my brain wasn't working enough to try to read his thoughts the way I'd always been able to do before. My doctor likened this challenging part of my recovery to face-blindness, saying that the part of my brain that understood expressions was damaged.

“Yep, all the men, too,” Adrian corrected himself in his usual upbeat breezy fashion, then pulled me away from the mirror and sat me in the chair. I couldn't tie my hair back on my own, but he knew that, and already had the thin leather he twined in my damp curls to tame them. “Ready for a shave?” He picked up the shaver, but I shook my head. “You're gonna grow a beard, JC? For real?” He was teasing me because that was what Adrian did. He pulled me out of the dark times, and he laughed with me, and at me, and he made me remember I was still alive.

I wish I weren't alive. I would give anything for Taylor or Asti to be here instead of me.

“It hurts,” I admitted, and as soon as I said it, I wanted to take back the words because Adrian dropped to a crouch in front of me.

“What hurts?” he asked with urgency.

“The… thing,” I patted my cheek, but my hand was shaking, and I dropped it immediately.

“Your head hurts?”

“No.” Yes.




JC and Adrian were a wonderfully refreshing addition to the Ellery Mountain series by RJ Scott. The Soldier and the Bodyguard hit all the marks. Lots of mystery and intrigue, and an abundance of love.

There were so many things I loved about the story building in this tale. The veterans at the center and the community they created. The infusion of all time favorite Sanctuary operates. But the pinnacle was the love between JC and Adrian. Usually in a storyline the slow burn is so slow, that I lose interest. Ms. Scott created their love from the start and then allowed it to flourish to love/sensuality. It enhanced the story and told of the friendship, through good and bad, with a lifelong commitment in the end.

Ups and downs, twists and turns, The Soldier and the Bodyguard hit every mark. You need not read the entire series to understand this book, but if you are looking for sexy men with strong characteristics and large hearts, Ellery Mountain series was worth the read.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


 ~~~~~

2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Friday, June 17, 2022

S.E.X. Review & Giveaway~ Dusk's Devotion by V.L. Locey




Cover Design: Meredith Russell

Length: 
Prairie Smoke Ranch Series 

Book #1 - Dawn's Desire - Buy Links
Book #2 - Twilight's Touch - Buy Links

Can love warm the hearts of two enemies facing the wrath of a Wyoming winter storm?

Kyle Abbott is slowly discovering that being midway through his thirties and being married to your job isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. There has to be more to life than random hookups, horses, and cattle. If only he could find a person who excites and ignites his passions like everyone else has at Blue Ice Ranch, he’d be a happy man. He hopes. Confused about his life, he volunteers to spend a month out with the cattle to sort through his bewilderment. Knowing there’s a blizzard on the horizon, Kyle sets out fully prepared and ready for anything.

Anything except the unexpected arrival of rival rancher Shep McCrary. When the half-frozen man shows up at the remote cabin where Kyle has hunkered down with the herd, his conscience demands for him to allow Shep to come inside. Offering food and warmth to another human being is the least he can do, right? Even if the man is a swaggering, hateful jerk who’s far too pretty for his own good and knows it. When the two are forced to spend time together, Kyle begins to see that there is more to Shep than he ever imagined. He might actually kind of like the pompous creep at times. Whoever said there was a fine line between love and hate sure knew what they were talking about…

Dusk’s Devotion is the final book in the Blue Ice MM contemporary western romance trilogy with enemies-to-lovers, a blizzard, lots of forced proximity, family dynamics, suspense, a mystery solved, and a happy ever after.


USA Today Bestselling Author V.L. Locey – Penning LGBT hockey romance that skates into sinful pleasures.

V.L. Locey loves worn jeans, yoga, belly laughs, walking, reading and writing lusty tales, Greek mythology, Torchwood and Dr. Who, the New York Rangers, comic books, and coffee. (Not necessarily in that order.) She shares her life with her husband, her daughter, one dog, two cats, a pair of geese, far too many chickens, and two steers.

When not writing spicy romances, she enjoys spending her day with her menagerie in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania with a cup of fresh java in one hand and a steamy romance novel in the other.




a Rafflecopter giveaway





Dusk’s Devotion by V.L. Locey was a nice finale to the Blue Ice trilogy. Kyle and Shep were worthy opponents, professionally and personally. Lots of twists and turns in DD, but no spoilers here.

Ms. Locey brought the lives of the men on the ranch to the forefront of the story, humanistic and spellbinding. Her way with words captivated and led the reader yearning for more. I also appreciated that past characters were intertwined in the current MC storyline, yet Kyle and Shep were the cornerstone.

Bigotry and hatred came in many forms, and Ms. Locey transitioned from the two with delicacy.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


~~~~~


2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

S.E.X. Review & Giveaway~ Saint's Song by Garrett Leigh

 





Cover Design: Black Jazz Design

Length:

Rebel Kings MC Series

Book #1 - Devil's Dance - Buy Here
Book #3 - Forgive Me Father - Pre-Order Here - Out Nov '22

Expect: a fragile king, a sweet-hearted henchman, an enigmatic hitman, and a fight to the death.Cam, Alexei, and Saint have survived their battle with the devil, but with too many enemies to count, can they survive the war?

“Kill me,” I choked out. “If he’s dead, you gotta kill me too.”

One club, one heart.

Three men, one soul.

Can loving someone kill you? I feel like the world is ending every time I look at them.

Cam. My brother. My president.

He’s the love of my life

And then there’s Alexei. I didn’t know I could feel this way about one person, let alone two. But I think of him in every breath I breathe for Cam. Every thundering beat of my heart. Because there is no Cam without him.

There is no me. My life wasn’t worth living until I found something worth dying for.
And I’d die for them a thousand times.

Saint’s Song is the second in a hurt/comfort, biker romance, MMM duet from the world of the Rebel Kings MC. Content warnings inside the book.




Garrett Leigh is an award-winning British writer and book designer.

Garrett's debut novel, Slide, won Best Bisexual Debut at the 2014 Rainbow Book Awards, and her polyamorous novel, Misfits was a finalist in the 2016 LAMBDA awards.

When not writing, Garrett can generally be found procrastinating on Twitter, cooking up a storm, or sitting on her behind doing as little as possible, all the while shouting at her menagerie of children and animals and attempting to tame her unruly and wonderful FOX.

Garrett is also an award winning cover artist, taking the silver medal at the Benjamin Franklin Book Awards in 2016. She designs for various publishing houses and independent authors at blackjazzdesign.com, and co-owns the specialist stock site moonstockphotography.com with renowned LGBTQA+ photographer Dan Burgess.

Website: http://www.garrettleigh.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/garrettleighauthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Garrett_Leigh

a Rafflecopter giveaway






Saint’s Song by Garrett Leigh was gritty and sensational. Part of the Rebel Kings MC series, I highly recommend the books be read in order, starting with Devil’s Dance.

Saint was the Sergeant at Arms to Cam’s leadership of the MC. Alexi, Cam’s lover, protector, and all-around assassin, rounded the trio. There were so many things I loved about the book. Ms Leigh never glossed over the tumultuous dealings or relationships MC’s had. The author delivered authenticity of the nefarious undertakings and dangerous world the men and women lived in.

Additionally, the turmoil the men experienced in the club and their relationship was bold and brash.

I loved Saint, as I did in the first book. His quiet yet strong demeanor radiated throughout the pages whether he was gently loving one of his men or fighting to save the club he loved so much. A polyamorous relationship, the men never faltered in their need for one another or the way they tried to protect each other. Nothing is more sexy than men getting their heads out of their as…es, no matter what the circumstances, and admitting their need and love.

Garrett Leigh can turn any setting and create a tale to be remembered. Her dark romances are just dark enough because of the realism added.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


 ~~~~~


2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Sunday, June 12, 2022

S.E.X. Review~ Below Stairs at Crofton Hall by Rebecca Cohen

Karl Vinter joins the staff at Crofton Hall as the new under butler. He's too busy to bother with relationships, but he's more than happy to explore a friends with benefits arrangement with gardener, Val Blake. He couldn't imagine a more perfect way to settle into is his new life at Crofton Hall. Pity pesky things like feelings start to get in the way.

Meanwhile, Ben Redbourn, 16th Earl of Crofton, is trying to find the perfect way to propose to Ashley, his boyfriend. He's going to need all the help he can get, especially after at least one misstep and that he's never given Ashley any indication he wants to get married.

This is the third Modern Crofton novel, featuring Benjamin Redbourn, the 16th Earl of Crofton and descendant of Anthony Redbourn, 1st Earl of Crofton from my historical series, The Crofton Chronicles.



I enjoyed Rebecca Cohen’s Below Stairs at Crofton Hall; sweet and sappy, and an easy read. My reservations were that for most of the book I forgot I was in modern times and not regency England. I almost thought I missed something when the lovely characters texted each other.

All in all, Ben and Ashley were wonderful, albeit not always in tune and main characters Val and Karl were a great addition to the storyline.

Lots of comings and goings as Ben sought to propose to Ashley with the help of live-in friends and staff, which definitely added appeal and humor.

Sweet read.

Frisky but Nothing to Kinky

A three and a half star review


~~~~~

2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Friday, June 3, 2022

S.E.X Release Blitz~ Below Stairs at Crofton Hall by Rebecca Cohen

 





Cover Design: Garrett Leigh - Black Jazz Design

Modern Crofton

Book #1 - Saving Crofton Hall - Buy Here
Book #2 - Making History at Crofton Hall - Buy Here

Karl Vinter joins the staff at Crofton Hall as the new under butler. He's too busy to bother with relationships, but he's more than happy to explore a friends with benefits arrangement with gardener, Val Blake. He couldn't imagine a more perfect way to settle into is his new life at Crofton Hall. Pity pesky things like feelings start to get in the way.

Meanwhile, Ben Redbourn, 16th Earl of Crofton, is trying to find the perfect way to propose to Ashley, his boyfriend. He's going to need all the help he can get, especially after at least one misstep and that he's never given Ashley any indication he wants to get married.

This is the third Modern Crofton novel, featuring Benjamin Redbourn, the 16th Earl of Crofton and descendant of Anthony Redbourn, 1st Earl of Crofton from my historical series, The Crofton Chronicles.
REBECCA COHEN spends her days dreaming of a living in a Tudor manor house, or a Georgian mansion. Alas, the closest she comes to this is through her characters in her historical romance novels. She also dreams of intergalactic adventures and fantasy realms, but because she’s not yet got her space or dimensional travel plans finalised, she lives happily in leafy Hertfordshire, England, with her husband and young son. She can often be found with a pen in one hand and sloe gin with lemon tonic in the other.

With contemporaries, historicals, sci fi and fantasy in her back catalogue, there should be something for every taste in Rebecca's work.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

~~~~~
2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Friday, May 20, 2022

S.E.X. Review~ Royal Lines by Scott & Locey

They’re setting fire to the sheets, but a romance between an out and proud hockey star and a reformed playboy prince could end up burning them both.

Marquis Miller might be one of the NHL’s best players, single, wealthy, and open about his sexuality, but he knows his future lies in taking over the reins of the family’s multimillion-dollar company after retirement. Jumping on the family jet, he heads to Europe, tasked with schmoozing a prince into accepting his company’s bid on a significant castle renovation. Assuming he’d encounter a dusty old monarch well into his dotage, Marquis is stunned to find out that Kaleb is a young, sophisticated, beautiful man with an impressive work ethic, to-die-for eyes, and a certain flair that captures Marquis’s attention.

Dragging the royal palace into the twenty-first century is one battle after another for the king’s youngest son. Juggling renovations, his royal duties, and attempting to reverse his former playboy prince reputation is impossible when everyone keeps dumping problems in his lap. His chaotic life takes yet another turn when an American hockey player arrives at the castle to discuss a renovation project. Marquis is the antithesis of Kaleb’s newly minted, responsible outlook on life, a jock, a player, willing to take chances. Although the forbidden sex is hot, Kaleb is not ready to turn on his family responsibilities for a pretty smile and a smart mouth.

Family is everything and romance will always come in second, until they open their hearts to love. 

Lost in Boston (Free prequel novella) (Boston Rebels 0) – https://rjscott.co.uk/LIB_Master 

  1. Top Shelf (Boston Rebels 1) – https://rjscott.co.uk/read-topshelf 
  2. Back Check (Boston Rebels 2) – https://rjscott.co.uk/read-backcheck 
  3. Royal Lines (Boston Rebels 4) – https://rjscott.co.uk/read-royal
  4. Blade (Boston Rebels 5) – coming August


RJ SCOTT

Writing love stories with a happy ever after – cowboys, heroes, family, hockey, single dads, bodyguards

USA Today bestselling author RJ Scott has written over one hundred romance books. Emotional stories of complicated characters, cowboys, single dads, hockey players, millionaires, princes, bodyguards, Navy SEALs, soldiers, doctors, paramedics, firefighters, cops, and the men who get mixed up in their lives, always with a happy ever after.

She lives just outside London and spends every waking minute she isn’t with family either reading or writing. The last time she had a week’s break from writing, she didn’t like it one little bit, and she has yet to meet a box of chocolates she couldn’t defeat.


RJ's Social Media as clickable links

Website | Newsletter | Email | BookBub | Amazon | Pinterest | Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook Reader Group | Facebook Author Page | BingeBooks | TikTok | YouTube | MeWe | Facebook MM Hockey Romance Group


VL LOCEY

V.L. Locey loves worn jeans, yoga, belly laughs, walking, reading and writing lusty tales, Greek mythology, the New York Rangers, comic books, and coffee.
(Not necessarily in that order.)

She shares her life with her husband, her daughter, one dog, two cats, a flock of assorted domestic fowl, and two Jersey steers.

When not writing spicy romances, she enjoys spending her day with her menagerie in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania with a cup of fresh java in hand.


VL's Social Media as clickable links

Website | Email | BookBub | Amazon | Pinterest | Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook


Could there be any two men more different yet so similar? Marquis and Kaleb fit the bill in Scott and Locey’s newest Boston Rebels- Royal Lines.

Marquis, hockey player and heir to the plumbing throne was sent to the kingdom of Norstoe to secure a plumbing contract in the royal castle. There he met Kaleb, youngest child of the queen and go to man for the renovation. Sparks immediately flew for the two men, who were known to be playboys with love ‘‘em and leave ‘‘em attitudes.

I loved the synergy of the two men. Their differences made them similar, and their natures meshed. The authors delivered a well rounded to story that focused on the budding relationship with some hockey thrown in. Out and proud, suave and stylish; neither man hid behind facades.

The secondary characters infused life into the storyline adding to Marquis’s and Kaleb’s appeal.

A lovely addition to the series.

Sexy and Sizzling

A four handcuff review


 ~~~~~


2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Friday, April 22, 2022

S.E.X Review~ The Bachelor and The Cherry by V. L. Locey

 





Cover Design: Meredith Russell

Length: 63,000 word approx.

Campo Royale Series

Book #1 - The Viking and the Drag Queen - All Buy Links

Is he brave enough to stop hiding behind his persona and give love one final try?

Jordan Stevens has crammed a lot of living into his fifty years. Some of those years have been good, some bad, and some he would just as soon forget. The world isn't always kind to an aging queen. Lovers begin to scamper into forbidden fields, your padding tends to slip, and you spend more time with egg whites than most pastry chefs. Heartache is nothing new to the man who embodies the acid-tongued Sitka Patel on stage every night, which led Jordan to vow to never trust another man under eighty again. He has his club, his drag family, and his Bombay cat, Heckle. Who needs the hassle? That philosophy had served him well until a stunning young thing with dark chocolate eyes shows up at the back door of Campo Royale with a suitcase, a sad story, and a dream.

From the time he was old enough to spell the word sequin, Yampier Perez knew that someday he'd be wearing them. One of three children born to Cuban immigrants, Yampier was always a little glitzier than the other neighborhood boys. His love of fashion design and performance arts was barely tolerated at home and even less so in the hallways of his rural Georgia high school. Yet, Yampier never let his light to be doused, not even the day his older brother caught him modeling his sister's prom dress. Beaten, disowned, and on his own before graduation, he found himself having to work seedy jobs, doing even seedier things, until he saved enough cash to head to the Big Apple. That money has now run out, leaving him stuck in Wilmington with no food, no place to stay, and no family. Little does he know that stumbling into the Campo Royale Club, half frozen and weak from hunger, is about to bring him everything he has yearned for.

The Bachelor and the Cherry is a slow burn gay age gap romance that features an aging drag queen, a virginal newcomer, lots of sass, wigs galore, hurt/comfort, family found, and a richly sequined happy ending.



USA Today Bestselling Author V.L. Locey – Penning LGBT hockey romance that skates into sinful pleasures.

V.L. Locey loves worn jeans, yoga, belly laughs, walking, reading and writing lusty tales, Greek mythology, Torchwood and Dr. Who, the New York Rangers, comic books, and coffee. (Not necessarily in that order.) She shares her life with her husband, her daughter, one dog, two cats, a pair of geese, far too many chickens, and two steers.

When not writing spicy romances, she enjoys spending her day with her menagerie in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania with a cup of fresh java in one hand and a steamy romance novel in the other.



a Rafflecopter giveaway


The Bachelor and The Cherry was witty and sweet. The second in V.L. Locey’s Campo Royale series, I’m finding I am falling in love with a entire set of new characters.

Jordan, aging queen and owner of a drag club was larger than life as he waded through business and love. Yampier, a much younger man who landed on Campo’s doorstep, took a chance in his feelings for the older man in search of his happily ever after.

The dynamics between the two very different men meshed, creating a dynamic that eased the storyline along. While difficult topics skimmed beneath the surface, I found the book refreshing and witty.

The snip and snap of the men who became queens, the very dramatic yet loving housekeeper, Jordan’s outspoken aunt, and eventually Yampier’s sister - all added to the appeal of the club and the lives they integrated.

Can an aging queen and a young buck mix and match? Only Ms. Locey could pull this off – and yes, she did.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


~~~~~

2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.