Friday, July 1, 2022

S.E.X. Review & Giveaway~ The Kite by NR Walker


Publication date: June 28th 2022
Genres: Adult, LGBTQ+, Romance, Suspense

Synopsis:

Ex-Australian Specialist Response Group, Tim “Harry” Harrigan, has been running covert ops for almost a decade. A lone wolf, he’s single-handedly taken down terrorists and national security threats, or so he thinks. He’s been in the game far too long, and when he sees a familiar threat, he knows his time is up.

Asher Garin is a dangerous man. A man without loyalty, a man without a nationality, without a country, or a home. He’s also a mercenary for hire to the highest bidder. His next job is a face he recognises, and after a tip-off, he learns he too is a marked man.

It’s a different game now, and Harry and Asher have a better chance at surviving if they stick together. But it’s not just the game or the rules that have changed. The stakes have too.

Because on their own, they had nothing to lose. Together, they do.

~

#EnemiesToLovers #GayAssassins #UsAgainstThem

Caution: on-page physical and gun violence. Reader discretion advised.





Asher and Harry were catapulted to new favorite couple status after reading NR Walker’s The Kite. Trained assassins, brought together by circumstance, the two men forged a relationship first of survival and necessity then of love.

The world building and intrigue manifested into a cat and mouse game that found the men running for their lives ahead of those who wanted them dead. I was enchanted and mesmerized at the same time by Ms Walker’s ability to draw me into the story and make me feel every nuance.

Action packed with a dose of humor, the characters kept from the pages. Realistic is delivery and adventure, The Kite was a sure bet and another hit by one of my favorite authors.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


 

AUTHOR BIO:
N.R. Walker is an Australian author, who loves her genre of gay romance. She loves writing and spends far too much time doing it, but wouldn’t have it any other way.

She is many things: a mother, a wife, a sister, a writer. She has pretty, pretty boys who live in her head, who don’t let her sleep at night unless she gives them life with words.

She likes it when they do dirty, dirty things… but likes it even more when they fall in love.

She used to think having people in her head talking to her was weird, until one day she happened across other writers who told her it was normal.

 
She’s been writing ever since…

Author links:
https://nrwalker.net/
https://www.facebook.com/N.R.WalkerAuthor
https://twitter.com/NR_Walker
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5819370.N_R_Walker
https://www.instagram.com/nrwalkerauthor/
https://www.bookbub.com/authors/n-r-walker



a Rafflecopter giveaway 

~~~~~
2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

S.E.X. Review~ Unexpected by Felice Stevens

Party planner Colin Brightman doesn’t drink or dance, preferring to go to bed early with his spreadsheets and lists. All he wants is to forget the singles weekend his friends sent him on, but he’s stuck with a suitcase filled with condoms and skimpy Speedos that don’t belong to him.

He doesn’t expect his luggage thief to be ex-baseball superstar Walker “Walk-Off” Scanlon. Or that Walker has hired his firm to put on a charity event at his bar. Colin can’t deny the mixed emotions the annoyingly flirty man stirs in him, but he refuses to fall for someone who racks up lovers as easily as he once hit home runs.

No matter how much he might want to.

Walker Scanlon likes his men easygoing with no complications. He’s had enough of those in his life. So why is he drawn to tense and straitlaced Colin and his frosty scowl? Even his corny one-liners and jokes don’t get him a smile. But the sparks between them are undeniable. And that unexpected kiss? Amazin’.

Now if only Colin would stop running away. Good thing Walker is fast on his feet, because he has no intention of letting Colin go.

When Colin and Walker come face to face with past hurts and betrayals, they’ll need to trust themselves and each other to learn that heartbreak and love don’t go hand in hand. It’s the bottom of the ninth and if they swing for the stars, they just might hit the grand slam of a lifetime.



I am sure that I have stated this fact before, but Felice Stevens writes stories that draw the reader in, no matter what particular genre you fancy. Unexpected was just that type of book. The main characters may be gay men, but the storyline revolved around the men based on their nuances, who they were, not on their sexuality.

Colin was uptight and high strung. Walker was almost his polar opposite, but in smaller dosages. The fact the two men were different did not deter from the story but enhanced it. Together they made up the parts of the whole and once Colin allowed himself to really see a future it took off from there.

Walker was larger than life, with an exuberant personality. The once baseball player now owned an upscale bar and worked with many charities involving kids. As an owner in an event planning company Colin and Walker’s paths crossed, Colin handled an event for Walker.

I loved the dynamics between the two men. Ms. Stevens gave us sass and determination with Walker and reserved continuity in Colin. I chuckled, felt sad, yet never once did I not think they would get their HEA.

The secondary characters of business associates which were also best friends added to the camaraderie of the story and the unexpected turn of events leading to happy endings.

Unexpected was everything a reader would expect in a Felice Stevens book, and so much more.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


 ~~~~~

2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Sunday, June 19, 2022

S.E.X. Review~ The Soldier and the Bodyguard by RJ Scott


GLBTQ, MM, 
Trope: Hurt Comfort, Best Friends to Lovers, PTSD, Brain Injury, Peril, Found Family
Released: 17 June 2022
Publisher: Love Lane Books
Series: Ellery Mountain
Length: 60,000 words
Cover Design: Meredith Russell












Excerpt 

The lie in the mirror was that I couldn't see the bullet fragments in my head. Only machines could see the damage, but I knew what was in there, and I scratched near the scar, which itched like fuck.

“Hey, don't do that,” Adrian murmured and laced our fingers together so he could tug me away from worrying at the skin. He’d have been horrified if I’d told him I had this idea that, if I scratched hard enough and then tilted my head, the fragments would fall out. 

I did that in my dreams, but I’d also discussed it in my chats with my therapist, who told me it was understandable to feel as if I could reach into my brain and pick out the metal.

Understandable. Reasonable.

“Sorry.” 

Adrian squeezed my hand. “It's okay; I'm just jealous that you have a wicked scar for the ladies.”

I glanced at him. “And the men.”

He nodded and I wish I knew what he was thinking, but Adrian had this inscrutable way about him. Or maybe it was that my brain wasn't working enough to try to read his thoughts the way I'd always been able to do before. My doctor likened this challenging part of my recovery to face-blindness, saying that the part of my brain that understood expressions was damaged.

“Yep, all the men, too,” Adrian corrected himself in his usual upbeat breezy fashion, then pulled me away from the mirror and sat me in the chair. I couldn't tie my hair back on my own, but he knew that, and already had the thin leather he twined in my damp curls to tame them. “Ready for a shave?” He picked up the shaver, but I shook my head. “You're gonna grow a beard, JC? For real?” He was teasing me because that was what Adrian did. He pulled me out of the dark times, and he laughed with me, and at me, and he made me remember I was still alive.

I wish I weren't alive. I would give anything for Taylor or Asti to be here instead of me.

“It hurts,” I admitted, and as soon as I said it, I wanted to take back the words because Adrian dropped to a crouch in front of me.

“What hurts?” he asked with urgency.

“The… thing,” I patted my cheek, but my hand was shaking, and I dropped it immediately.

“Your head hurts?”

“No.” Yes.




JC and Adrian were a wonderfully refreshing addition to the Ellery Mountain series by RJ Scott. The Soldier and the Bodyguard hit all the marks. Lots of mystery and intrigue, and an abundance of love.

There were so many things I loved about the story building in this tale. The veterans at the center and the community they created. The infusion of all time favorite Sanctuary operates. But the pinnacle was the love between JC and Adrian. Usually in a storyline the slow burn is so slow, that I lose interest. Ms. Scott created their love from the start and then allowed it to flourish to love/sensuality. It enhanced the story and told of the friendship, through good and bad, with a lifelong commitment in the end.

Ups and downs, twists and turns, The Soldier and the Bodyguard hit every mark. You need not read the entire series to understand this book, but if you are looking for sexy men with strong characteristics and large hearts, Ellery Mountain series was worth the read.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


 ~~~~~

2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Friday, June 17, 2022

S.E.X. Review & Giveaway~ Dusk's Devotion by V.L. Locey




Cover Design: Meredith Russell

Length: 
Prairie Smoke Ranch Series 

Book #1 - Dawn's Desire - Buy Links
Book #2 - Twilight's Touch - Buy Links

Can love warm the hearts of two enemies facing the wrath of a Wyoming winter storm?

Kyle Abbott is slowly discovering that being midway through his thirties and being married to your job isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. There has to be more to life than random hookups, horses, and cattle. If only he could find a person who excites and ignites his passions like everyone else has at Blue Ice Ranch, he’d be a happy man. He hopes. Confused about his life, he volunteers to spend a month out with the cattle to sort through his bewilderment. Knowing there’s a blizzard on the horizon, Kyle sets out fully prepared and ready for anything.

Anything except the unexpected arrival of rival rancher Shep McCrary. When the half-frozen man shows up at the remote cabin where Kyle has hunkered down with the herd, his conscience demands for him to allow Shep to come inside. Offering food and warmth to another human being is the least he can do, right? Even if the man is a swaggering, hateful jerk who’s far too pretty for his own good and knows it. When the two are forced to spend time together, Kyle begins to see that there is more to Shep than he ever imagined. He might actually kind of like the pompous creep at times. Whoever said there was a fine line between love and hate sure knew what they were talking about…

Dusk’s Devotion is the final book in the Blue Ice MM contemporary western romance trilogy with enemies-to-lovers, a blizzard, lots of forced proximity, family dynamics, suspense, a mystery solved, and a happy ever after.


USA Today Bestselling Author V.L. Locey – Penning LGBT hockey romance that skates into sinful pleasures.

V.L. Locey loves worn jeans, yoga, belly laughs, walking, reading and writing lusty tales, Greek mythology, Torchwood and Dr. Who, the New York Rangers, comic books, and coffee. (Not necessarily in that order.) She shares her life with her husband, her daughter, one dog, two cats, a pair of geese, far too many chickens, and two steers.

When not writing spicy romances, she enjoys spending her day with her menagerie in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania with a cup of fresh java in one hand and a steamy romance novel in the other.




a Rafflecopter giveaway





Dusk’s Devotion by V.L. Locey was a nice finale to the Blue Ice trilogy. Kyle and Shep were worthy opponents, professionally and personally. Lots of twists and turns in DD, but no spoilers here.

Ms. Locey brought the lives of the men on the ranch to the forefront of the story, humanistic and spellbinding. Her way with words captivated and led the reader yearning for more. I also appreciated that past characters were intertwined in the current MC storyline, yet Kyle and Shep were the cornerstone.

Bigotry and hatred came in many forms, and Ms. Locey transitioned from the two with delicacy.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


~~~~~


2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Tuesday, June 14, 2022

S.E.X. Review & Giveaway~ Saint's Song by Garrett Leigh

 





Cover Design: Black Jazz Design

Length:

Rebel Kings MC Series

Book #1 - Devil's Dance - Buy Here
Book #3 - Forgive Me Father - Pre-Order Here - Out Nov '22

Expect: a fragile king, a sweet-hearted henchman, an enigmatic hitman, and a fight to the death.Cam, Alexei, and Saint have survived their battle with the devil, but with too many enemies to count, can they survive the war?

“Kill me,” I choked out. “If he’s dead, you gotta kill me too.”

One club, one heart.

Three men, one soul.

Can loving someone kill you? I feel like the world is ending every time I look at them.

Cam. My brother. My president.

He’s the love of my life

And then there’s Alexei. I didn’t know I could feel this way about one person, let alone two. But I think of him in every breath I breathe for Cam. Every thundering beat of my heart. Because there is no Cam without him.

There is no me. My life wasn’t worth living until I found something worth dying for.
And I’d die for them a thousand times.

Saint’s Song is the second in a hurt/comfort, biker romance, MMM duet from the world of the Rebel Kings MC. Content warnings inside the book.




Garrett Leigh is an award-winning British writer and book designer.

Garrett's debut novel, Slide, won Best Bisexual Debut at the 2014 Rainbow Book Awards, and her polyamorous novel, Misfits was a finalist in the 2016 LAMBDA awards.

When not writing, Garrett can generally be found procrastinating on Twitter, cooking up a storm, or sitting on her behind doing as little as possible, all the while shouting at her menagerie of children and animals and attempting to tame her unruly and wonderful FOX.

Garrett is also an award winning cover artist, taking the silver medal at the Benjamin Franklin Book Awards in 2016. She designs for various publishing houses and independent authors at blackjazzdesign.com, and co-owns the specialist stock site moonstockphotography.com with renowned LGBTQA+ photographer Dan Burgess.

Website: http://www.garrettleigh.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/garrettleighauthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Garrett_Leigh

a Rafflecopter giveaway






Saint’s Song by Garrett Leigh was gritty and sensational. Part of the Rebel Kings MC series, I highly recommend the books be read in order, starting with Devil’s Dance.

Saint was the Sergeant at Arms to Cam’s leadership of the MC. Alexi, Cam’s lover, protector, and all-around assassin, rounded the trio. There were so many things I loved about the book. Ms Leigh never glossed over the tumultuous dealings or relationships MC’s had. The author delivered authenticity of the nefarious undertakings and dangerous world the men and women lived in.

Additionally, the turmoil the men experienced in the club and their relationship was bold and brash.

I loved Saint, as I did in the first book. His quiet yet strong demeanor radiated throughout the pages whether he was gently loving one of his men or fighting to save the club he loved so much. A polyamorous relationship, the men never faltered in their need for one another or the way they tried to protect each other. Nothing is more sexy than men getting their heads out of their as…es, no matter what the circumstances, and admitting their need and love.

Garrett Leigh can turn any setting and create a tale to be remembered. Her dark romances are just dark enough because of the realism added.

Definite S.E.X.

A five handcuff review


 ~~~~~


2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Sunday, June 12, 2022

S.E.X. Review~ Below Stairs at Crofton Hall by Rebecca Cohen

Karl Vinter joins the staff at Crofton Hall as the new under butler. He's too busy to bother with relationships, but he's more than happy to explore a friends with benefits arrangement with gardener, Val Blake. He couldn't imagine a more perfect way to settle into is his new life at Crofton Hall. Pity pesky things like feelings start to get in the way.

Meanwhile, Ben Redbourn, 16th Earl of Crofton, is trying to find the perfect way to propose to Ashley, his boyfriend. He's going to need all the help he can get, especially after at least one misstep and that he's never given Ashley any indication he wants to get married.

This is the third Modern Crofton novel, featuring Benjamin Redbourn, the 16th Earl of Crofton and descendant of Anthony Redbourn, 1st Earl of Crofton from my historical series, The Crofton Chronicles.



I enjoyed Rebecca Cohen’s Below Stairs at Crofton Hall; sweet and sappy, and an easy read. My reservations were that for most of the book I forgot I was in modern times and not regency England. I almost thought I missed something when the lovely characters texted each other.

All in all, Ben and Ashley were wonderful, albeit not always in tune and main characters Val and Karl were a great addition to the storyline.

Lots of comings and goings as Ben sought to propose to Ashley with the help of live-in friends and staff, which definitely added appeal and humor.

Sweet read.

Frisky but Nothing to Kinky

A three and a half star review


~~~~~

2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.

Friday, June 3, 2022

S.E.X Release Blitz~ Below Stairs at Crofton Hall by Rebecca Cohen

 





Cover Design: Garrett Leigh - Black Jazz Design

Modern Crofton

Book #1 - Saving Crofton Hall - Buy Here
Book #2 - Making History at Crofton Hall - Buy Here

Karl Vinter joins the staff at Crofton Hall as the new under butler. He's too busy to bother with relationships, but he's more than happy to explore a friends with benefits arrangement with gardener, Val Blake. He couldn't imagine a more perfect way to settle into is his new life at Crofton Hall. Pity pesky things like feelings start to get in the way.

Meanwhile, Ben Redbourn, 16th Earl of Crofton, is trying to find the perfect way to propose to Ashley, his boyfriend. He's going to need all the help he can get, especially after at least one misstep and that he's never given Ashley any indication he wants to get married.

This is the third Modern Crofton novel, featuring Benjamin Redbourn, the 16th Earl of Crofton and descendant of Anthony Redbourn, 1st Earl of Crofton from my historical series, The Crofton Chronicles.
REBECCA COHEN spends her days dreaming of a living in a Tudor manor house, or a Georgian mansion. Alas, the closest she comes to this is through her characters in her historical romance novels. She also dreams of intergalactic adventures and fantasy realms, but because she’s not yet got her space or dimensional travel plans finalised, she lives happily in leafy Hertfordshire, England, with her husband and young son. She can often be found with a pen in one hand and sloe gin with lemon tonic in the other.

With contemporaries, historicals, sci fi and fantasy in her back catalogue, there should be something for every taste in Rebecca's work.



a Rafflecopter giveaway

~~~~~
2022 ©Evelise Archer All rights reserved. This is a work of fiction. All names, characters, locations, and incidents are products of the author’s imagination, or have been used fictionally. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, locales, or events is entirely coincidental. No portion of this work may be transmitted or reproduced in any form, or by any means, without permission in writing from the author.